Goodbye Negativity…

As I was driving back to Edinburgh from Glasgow last night, I heard on the radio that they were running a campaign this week where people should only say positive things to one another, and that all negativity should be kept to themselves. What a great idea! I wonder what this country would look like if we all decided to speak life and encouragement towards one another, imagine the impact that would have. At the end of last year, I went for 30 Days where I made a point to encourage at least one person every day, with the aim that it would then become a lifestyle within me. This year for lent, I want to go on a 40 day negativity fast, where I only ever look at what is happening, and not what appears to not be happening.

I did this a few years ago, along with a team I was a part of who were heading to Cuba for a ministry trip. When I first started it, I thought it was the dumbest thing, thinking I was pretty positive already. It wasn’t until I began the fast when I realised just how negative I was towards certain aspects of my character as well as what was going on around me. I began to tune out news that filled my mind with negative thoughts, and began declaring all that God was doing in and around me.

Lent begins next Wednesday, February 18th. Why not this year, instead of giving up coffee, or chocolate (although you could do that too!), why not give up negativity? There is a great book which I read while on my fast a few years ago, which has changed my life ever since. It’s set up like a 40 day devotional in which we can feast on the positive things of God, of us and of the world around us. It’s not ignoring what’s happening, but choosing not to allow the situation to overwhelm us to the point where we have elevated the problem to be bigger than it really is.

Why not join me this year and kick negative thinking and living out for good! You can get your copy of the book online from a host of places, or you can buy it from the Healing Rooms Website, where all profits go directly to our ministry here in Scotland. Follow the link below to get your copy in time for lent.

http://www.healingrooms-scotland.org/product/igniting-faith/

One comment

  1. Mhairi Morrison

    I can attest to this being a brilliant thing to do as I enter day 36 of the 40 day challenge. Its amazing what it brings up, as Robbie said, I too was thinking I was a pretty positive thinker until I began the challenge…its surprising what comes to light.

Leave a Reply

