Truth.

I remember when I was in primary school we were preparing to do a musical version of the story of Jonah and the Whale. Rather an ambitious venture to put on in a small rural school of about 40 students in the late 80’s. As we were practicing songs, I remember the music teacher stopping every body as she heard someone singing out of tune. After using her powers of deduction, she soon discovered it was me. My voice was too deep to reach those high notes, and so instead of helping me along, I was told I couldn’t sing and had to mime all the words. Until just last year, what that teacher said to me really had a huge impact on me. I believed the lie that since I had a bad singing voice then, I could never sing in public again and spent most of my life singing quieter so nobody around me could hear my voice.

For years I felt restricted until last year I was on a ministry trip and for some unknown reason, I knew God was telling me I had to sing a song in front of a church all on my own. Worse still was the fact that nobody else knew the words since it was a prophetic song and God had given me the words to sing earlier in the service. I knew this was my opportunity to break free from that lie and to step out into the truth. As I sang out the song, I could feel God’s Presence all around me, bringing me freedom from that lie.

Jesus once told the Jews who believed in Him, “If you hold on to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” John 8:31,32

The world would love to tell us lies about to us in order to prevent us from stepping out into what God has for us, sometimes it can be hard to identify these lies or even hard to let go of them since we have held onto them for so long we can find it hard to allow ourselves to step out into the freedom God has for us.

I remember speaking to a man on the streets once who was very sick, and I asked him if I could pray for him because I believed that God wanted to heal him of his illness. He refused. He told me he would actually miss the sickness, as if the sickness was his only companion.

That can be the same for us too with lies, we think that we actually might miss them or are scared to let go of them without knowing that in reality God has something so much better for us and it was never His intention for us to be believing such lies.

The truth of God always sets people free. Many people are not experiencing this freedom at the moment because they are choosing, consciously or not, to believe a lie. We need to constantly remind ourselves of the truth from God and from Jesus. Is what we are believing bringing us life, joy, fulfillment? Because if it’s not, then we may be believing a lie. Sadness and shame are not gifts of the Spirit. Joy, Peace, Love are but a few.

Surround yourself with God’s truth, declare His goodness and truth over yourself daily, and walk out into the freedom to which you were born to live in.

Here’s a few truths from the Bible that I came up with earlier…

– God is for you – Romans 8:31

– God is madly in Love with you – John 3:16

– God is your healer – Exodus 15:26

– God has a plan for you and has already forgiven you of your sins – Ephesians 1:4

– You are royalty – 1 Peter 1:9

– God is not surprised nor discouraged by the situation you find yourself in – Ephesians 1:5

– The same power that rose Christ from the grave dwells within you – Ephesians 1:18-21

 

 

 

Leave a comment