New Year

This is my first post of the new year, so I better make it a good one! In the space of two months, I have got married, had our first Christmas together and become an uncle to a beautiful baby boy, and just yesterday I started a new job. The job is exactly what I was born to do, and I am so excited for what this next year will bring here in Scotland and around the world. God is faithful to our hearts desires, when we take a step out into the unknown and show Him we trust in Him, we give Him room to move in our lives in powerful and unexpected ways.

I have a good feeling about 2014, I think this may be the best year yet. I get excited when I think about the fact that God is more excited about our futures then we sometimes are, He is more eager to reveal to us what He has planned for us than we know. Jeremiah 29:11 tells us God has great things planned for us, things that will prosper us and give us hope. I believe that 2014 is a year of renewed hope for those of us who have lost that recently. I believe 2014 is a year of outrageous provision from the Lord for those who are ready and willing to allow God to move in and through them.

Proverbs 3:5,6 encourages us to trust fully in the Lord, and acknowledge Him in all we do, and He will make our paths straight. This year, I want to develop within me a lifestyle of acknowledging Him in every situation I am faced with, I want to declare His goodness and faithfulness through it all, even if I struggle to see what He is doing.

Several times this week I have found myself reading through Romans 8:28-39, where Paul reminds us that we are indeed more than conquerors. “In ALL things God works for the good of those who love him.” ALL things, not one thing or a couple of things, but ALL things in your life God is at work for your good. Verse 32 goes on to say “He who did not spare his own Son, but gave him up for us all – how will he not also, along with him, graciously give us all things?” It was more painful for God to see us separated from Him then it was for Him to see Jesus die on the cross. That’s love. That’s faithfulness beyond any comprehension. Since God has done this for us, that should give us hope for the future, hope for 2014, that He has not taken us this far to now leave us alone, but He has only just begun to reveal to us what He has planned for our future. He is not a God of limited resources, He is a God of extreme love for us, and a God who so desperately wants the best for me, for you.

Verse 34 and 35 of that chapter tells us that Jesus Himself sits at the right hand of God and intercedes for us. Jesus, right now, is praying for you. I don’t know about you, but that gives me hope for the future!

So, as you set about this first month of 2014, remember that God is at work in your life, bringing everything into alignment, Jesus is interceding for you. All we need to do is to love the Lord with all our strength, to trust in Him in all our ways, and to allow Him room in our lives to bring provision, hope, wisdom. I pray that 2014 really is the best year yet for you, that you will begin to feel God and see God at work in your life today, and that as you put your trust in Him and draw near to Him, you will begin to hear with an increased clarity His word for you today. God is for you. Nothing can get in His way.

Leave a Reply

