Goodness.

This passed week I have been reminded throughout each day of just how good God is. He is a trustworthy God who has good things planned for those who look to Him (2 Samuel 7:28, 1 Chronicles 17:26). He answers the desires of our hearts, He is at work in your life today, bringing things together at just the right time. He is a good Father who gives good things to His children. Even if we are faced with challenges in life or things around us seem hard, God is still good. His character doesn’t change.

This week as I prepare to get married at the weekend, each day I have been in awe of all He has done in my life. It’s hard to comprehend how the God who made the universe is so completely for me and in love with me that He would do anything to bring the desires of my heart into action. He is actually jealous to spend time with me.

There is a song out right now on the new Bethel album which I have been listening to over and over again this week. It’s called “For the Cross”, and the lyrics to the song are all about what Jesus did for us on the cross, so that we may have a freindship with God. What a friend. What a saviour. God is good.

God is good all the time, and all the time God is good. I have heard that saying a lot in different countries around the world, almost so much that to me it felt like it had lost its meaning. But as I look back I see just how true that statement is. Even if things aren’t going our way, maybe we are out of work, or in a broken relationship, or have lost a loved one, God is still good. It is impossible for God to contradict His very being.

Jesus came bringing the good news for all to hear, the good news is that God is here for you today, He is at work in your life, He is for you and not against you, He is speaking to you more than you think. Take a look around you, breathe in His goodness.

 

Leave a Reply

