Today.

To say that my life has been busy since returning here from America in June would be a huge understatement. I have been living in various friends’ houses, working for my friend doing landscape gardening, organizing a wedding, looking for a place to live, preaching and teaching, and trying to find a full time ministry job! As I sat down tonight to spend time with God, I began thinking about all the time I spend thinking about the future, and how great it will be once everything falls into place. As I was thinking that, I also began thinking about the last two years I spent at Bethel, and all the amazing experiences I had there, and began almost wishing I was back there.

When God had brought the Israelites out of Egypt, it didn’t take long for them to begin complaining about their current situation, looking back on their Egyptian lives with fondness, forgetting all that God had done to get them where they currently were. I’m pretty sure God was a little annoyed at their complaints (See Numbers 11!)

I came to the conclusion that I never want to take for granted where I am today, the season God has me in right now. Yes, It is good to look forward to the future, but when we become filled with anxiety and fear about the unknown, we lose sight on the present and what God is wanting to do for/with us today.

We may want to look back on past seasons too, longing to be back there, when really God has moved us on from there and where we are today is exactly where God wants us to be. We haven’t missed out. God hasn’t forgotten about me, you, us. He works all things out for our good.

So, today I want to be fully present for whatever God has for me, and to experience His perfect peace as together we move forward with excited expectation of what tomorrow will bring.

One comment

Leave a Reply

