Who are you?

Do your circumstance define who you are, or do you get your identity from somewhere or someone else? I was doing some ministry a couple weeks ago in Glasgow, and was amazed at the number of people I spoke to on the streets who were struggling with pain and sickness and yet were reluctant to receive prayer for it as they had become used to the pain. One man even told me he would miss the pain as it had become sort of a companion to him. When I told him that Jesus could take the pain away and be the companion he has always been looking for, he still preferred to hold on to his sickness. Another lady told me she had learned how to cope with the pain and so didn’t see the point in getting healed. We should never allow our current circumstances to dictate who we are, just because I currently have pain in my body does not mean that I need to keep hold of it for the rest of my life.

I refuse to believe in my own life, that the various ailments I currently have in my body define who I am and what I can do. God sees me as holy and blameless, set apart from the beginning of time to have an amazing life free from pain and discomfort. My Spirit knows that, but my body is still catching up with that reality, and I know that as each day passes, I get one day closer to this becoming reality in my physical body.

The truth is that as we enter into relationship with God, the things of this world lose all effect on us, as we are living with a new perspective on life. We cannot allow ourselves to become caught up with the issues facing us here, we cannot lose sight of what God has said to us in the past as well as what He is saying to us now.

That doesn’t mean that we brush aside what we are faced with, hoping that they will just disappear, it just means that we hold fast to the truth. We need to be able to see the difference between what is fact and what is truth. For example, the fact is you have no money, the truth is God is our provider, so I will press into that truth and believe God will come through. He has done it before, so He will do it again. He hasn’t brought us this far just to leave us to fend for ourselves now!

The fact is you have pain in your body. The truth is Jesus came to bring healing and restoration to all who come to Him. Sometimes healing is an instant thing when other times it can be a process, in the meantime, we just need to consume ourselves with the answer to the problem.

So, as you go about your day, consume your thoughts with the solution to any problems you face, whether it is physical, emotional healing, or whether you are waiting for financial breakthrough, this is an opportunity to shift your perspectives from the problem and rest your eyes onto the solution. Because God is always bigger than any problem we are faced with. When David was face to face with Goliath, he didn’t see the giant in front of him, yet he saw through him to the solution, and the solution was big, even bigger than Goliath!

God sees you as holy and blameless (Ephesians 1:4), perhaps it’s about time we see ourselves as how God does, too.

Leave a Reply

