Miracles are normal in Jamaica!

Just back from Jamaica this morning, after 24 hours of traveling. What an incredible trip, such a beautiful country filled with beautiful people. My life will never be the same again after this trip, seeing all that God did over the last couple weeks, and knowing all that God still intends on doing in that country excites me every time I think about it.

All last week was spent in a small town right in the centre of the country, where we ministered with local leaders there as well as took to the streets and spent time ministering one on one with the people of the town. By the end of the week I felt like I knew half the town as I walked towards the church after having already visited the prison and hospital that hot Sunday morning. We had the privilege of ministering at the local prison, where they had around 15 inmates awaiting their court dates. As we shared with them and spoke to them about the love God had for them, 8 of them accepted an invitation to follow Christ. After that, they then began to pray for those of them who had pain in their body, and were amazed to see God move through them and bring healing to their fellow inmates. It was an amazing sign of God’s reconciliation as only the day before there had been an outbreak of violence in the cell that had left them all with cuts and bruises and blood stained clothes. And yet here they were, once again laying hands on each other, only this time to bring healing instead of inflict pain.

This whole year, I have been learning how to hear God’s voice while out on the streets ministering, and during this trip I experienced hearing His voice with such clarity and accuracy, and it was incredible to see how He would use that to break down walls within the people I was speaking with.

One day, I found myself speaking to an elderly lady who was sitting down in her fruit stand in the centre of the town. There was a high school girl leaning up against the stand speaking with what seemed to be her boyfriend. As I was speaking with the elderly lady, I felt like God was telling me she had pain in her wrists. It turned out she did. I then explained to her how much God loved her and wanted to heal her of the pain she was experiencing. As I was telling her this, I saw out of the corner of my eye that the high school girl was laughing at what I was saying, and joking about it with her friend. As I continued to minister to the lady, I asked God to give me something about this girl. Immediately, I felt a pain on the right side of my lower back, so i turned to the girl and asked her if she had pain there. She looked at me, a little bewildered, and said “yes, I do. How did you know that?” I explained to her how I knew it, and she was amazed that God spoke to people like that. She had such intense pain in her back that she could not stand up straight and always had to lean against something, which was why she leaned against the fruit stand. I began to talk with her about the love God has for her and how He just wants to speak to her on a regular basis. God also told me a lot more about her that I was able to share with her. After around 15 minutes of talking with her, I noticed that she was no longer leaning up against the fruit stand. I pointed that out to her, and she began to move around, and realized that she no longer had any pain whatsoever in her back! God had healed her and I hadn’t even prayed for her yet!

I have so many more stories to share about my experiences from Jamaica, and plan on doing so in the coming weeks, but wanted to give you some of the highlights from the trip. I love what Paul says in 1 Corinthians 4:20, “The kingdom of God is not one of talk but of power.” It’s time the church caught up to this fact, and began to walk in the power and authority given to us. During my time in Jamaica, I saw first hand each day we were there, just a glimpse of the power Paul talks about in this verse. My prayer is that the church there and everywhere can start to live out this reality and grasp all that God has made available to us.

Leave a Reply

