How big is your God?

Last Sunday at church, Eric Johnson was preaching, and one of the things he was talking about was how for so many of us, we put God in a box. We constrain God to doing the things we think He can do, we put parameters on what we have faith to see. And this is called religion. We should never limit God to what we think He can do. He is bigger than that. Paul prays in Ephesians that we be filled with the fullness of God. That’s a lot to be filled with, and yet the temptation is to put a limit on it, perhaps being a little uneasy about what “fullness” might look like in our lives, or perhaps being content with our lives right now.

But we move from glory to glory (2 Corinthians 3:18), there is always more to God for us to experience and receive from. And yet we sometimes hold back, afraid of what “more” might look like. This is a dangerous place to be, as it is in this state of uncertainty that the devil loves for us to be in, he will do everything he can to prevent us from moving forward to receiving all that God has planned for us.

I moved to Colorado in May 2007 to begin work at a church there as a youth pastor, and remained there for around 18 months when I headed west to Seattle. While in Colorado, I would regularly wake up with feelings of being pushed down on my bed, and with a real sense of fear in the room. This happened maybe 2-3 times a week for around 6 months. At first, I was a little scared as to what was happening, but when speaking with a friend, I realized that this was an attempt by the enemy to scare me out of what God was doing in my life. I had only a year or so prior to moving to Colorado, become a Christian after realizing I could actually have a relationship with God through Jesus, and so was experiencing a great change in my life and relationship with God. This scared the devil, he wanted more than anything for me to return to my old lifestyle, to back away from the life God had for me.

I dread to think what would have become of me had I given in to that fear and not continued to press in for what God had for me. It’s when we experience attacks like this that we need to recognize what God is doing for us.

One night, two weeks before I headed out to west Africa on a ministry trip in 2009, I awoke in the middle of the night and felt like my hands were tied together. I could not seem to pull them apart and the room was filled with a feeling a fear. I began to recite the beginning of Psalm 18, a Psalm I had memorized from my Colorado days, and as I got to verse 3, which says “I call to the Lord, who is worthy of praise, and I am saved from my enemies,” once I had finished saying that out loud, my hands became free and I sat straight up in my bed. There is power in the name of the Lord.

We cannot allow ourselves to partner with the fear tactics of the enemy and become paralyzed in our walk with God, afraid to move forward and essentially giving control over to the enemy. We need to push through because breakthrough is coming, God is calling you to bigger and better things then you could ever dream of or imagine.

How big is your God? It’s time that we took God out of His box, it’s time for us to move forward into what He has for us this year, and this may mean that we step out of our comfort zone a little, but when we step out and break through fear we get to experience more of the fullness of God in our lives then we could have ever thought possible. What is God calling you to do this week? How will you respond?

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

