Now, Rest.

What does rest look like to you? For most of my life, rest has been something I have always wanted to do more of, but never quite been able to make the time to do it! It can be so easy to get caught up with the busyness of life that we forget that God made us as human beings, not human doings.

One of the things God was teaching me at the beginning of the year, and reminded me of earlier this week, is how to live my life from rest. Last Tuesday night was the first night in over two weeks where I had no plans, and the idea of a quiet night in sounded fantastic!  God reminded me of what He had been teaching me, to operate from rest, and not work to rest. It might sound strange or hard, but Jesus also invites us in.

In Matthew 11, Jesus invites us to go to Him and allow Him to show us how to take a real rest. He invites us to let go of our every day burdens and learn from Him a way of living that is not heavy and burdensome, but light and free. I don’t know about you, but that sounds pretty good to me. So, how do we do that?

Well, I am still a work in progress on this, but some things I have learned along the way is firstly to be constantly aware of God throughout my day. In doing this, I find peace and guidance as I sense His presence in and around me. Jesus’ invitation was for us to partner with Him through life, not for us to go it alone and hope for the best.

In the Message translation of the passage from Matthew 11, Jesus says for us to go to Him and “learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” I love the imagery that brings up, to learn how to move in sync with God, it’s not something that is forced upon us. Some how along the way, we have become bogged down with all the pressures and insignificant things of the world, when Jesus says there is a much easier way to live than that. One that is life giving and not life taking.

So, are you operating from a place of rest?

One comment

  1. speakpeacealways

    “learn the unforced rhythms of grace.” That is one of my favourite phrases, and I am still learning to let Jesus lead in the dance. 🙂 How I love to be in control… *sigh* …. and how patient He is with me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

