Be Specific

Since Christmas I have been very much aware that my time here at Bethel is coming to an end, with just over 3 more months left of second year. My time in the States is drawing to a close after living over here for six years, and in June I’ll be heading back to Scotland before getting married in November. So, what’s next for me after Bethel? When I moved to Colorado in 2007, I had no real intention of returning to Scotland, until I came to Bethel almost two years ago. Since then, God has really put Scotland on my heart and I have such a desire and longing to see the country transformed and revived with a powerful move of God. I will miss this country, and will try to visit regularly, and maybe one day God will have me back over here. But for this next season of life, Scotland will be my focus.

Many people have been asking me what I plan on doing when returning to Scotland, and so far my answers have been a little hazy, with me being uncertain of what exactly I will do upon arriving back to the homeland. And then the other day, while having some time with Jesus, I felt prompted to write down exactly what I want to do when I move back. Psalm 37:4 tells us to take delight in the Lord and He will give us the desires of our hearts. God was telling me to be specific. For God to give us the desires of our hearts, perhaps we need to be a little more specific.

I heard a story of a fellow student who wanted a specific white car, and while at home for Christmas she continued to believe God would provide her with the car. She had no ticket and no way of returning to class, but had faith that God would give her the desires of her heart. She announced to her family that she would leave on a certain day, and the day before her scheduled departure, she began to pack her bags, still with no car and no way of getting back to California. The next day the door bell rang, and as she opened the door she was greeted by a group of friends who were busy holding cameras to capture her reaction as they gave her their car. The white car she had specifically asked God for. God wants to give us the desires of our hearts, so what are your desires?

If we fully trust in the Lord, take delight in Him and have relationship with Him, why wouldn’t He want to give us all we ask for? He is a God of abundance who wants to lavishly give us all our hearts desires. I am believing for the exact type of church position I wrote down the other day. What are the desires of your heart? Why not tell God. See what happens.

3 comments

  1. Martin

    Hi Robbie, this is all well and good, except for the fact that there are problems with logic like this. One is most specific/clear about his/her wants, in a time of need (like thirst and water). If you apply this to those who require basic materials to survive then why do we have such problems across the world and why isn’t God answering those prayers? I’m guessing there are prayers involved. Maybe your friends story is based more on the social/material environment then around her relationship with God? I’m guessing here.

    Though, your friend’s experience, that God answered her prayer, is certainly a better story than what I’ve suggested.

    Go well and maybe see you in Banchory sometime soon.

    Martin

    • robbiemorrison82

      Hi Martin,

      Good to hear from you, hope you are doing well. Been ages since i last saw you. Thanks for your comments, great to get some feedback. Please find below some explanations/answers to your questions…

      There are several places in the Bible where we see Jesus talking about material (clothes, a car, house, etc), physical (thirst, food, etc) as well as spiritual needs. My examples in the blog are just a couple things that I have heard of recently, and i didn’t go into them in great detail. Matthew 5:25-34 is a great passage where Jesus talks about God providing us with needs. And then later in Matthew 7:7-11, we get a clearer picture about God’s abundant provision to those who profess His name.

      Of course, there are still many instances around the world where people’s basic needs are not being met. And so you quiet rightly ask, why isn’t God answering those prayers? I don’t know if I have a complete answer, but i will at least try!! First, a lot of what is written in the Bible needs to be held in tension, as throughout His time on earth, Jesus spoke about the kingdom of heaven being near, but not here fully. So we have this balance where we see things like God’s provision and healing for many people, and then others not receiving anything.

      Secondly, the Bible is clear that God provides abundantly for those who actively seek to have relationship with Him and are doing as Jesus says in Matthew 6:33, seeking first the kingdom of God. That doesn’t mean that God ignores everyone else or that He loves people more than others, He loves everyone the same, but does not always give same amount of favour to everyone. Jesus tells a parable in Matthew 25:14-30 about different people being given different amounts of money, and we see what they did with them. Have a look at it. If those who believe in God and steward what has been given to them, then more will be given.

      I hope that brings some clarity to your questions, although there is a lot more i could probably write about this!

      Hope you are well and would be great to catch up when i return to Scotland.

      • martin

        Hey Robbie,

        Thanks for the reply. I’ll do as you suggest and read those chapters as they will give me more insight. It is important to look deep into these questions, as you already have. I understand your points. I believe peoples’ basic needs are not being met in some places and thrive in others due to the historical, social, political and environmental circumstances within which they exist. This is why I find it difficult to believe in some aspects of your message. I’m not sure praying can change that. I hope it can. I do know we need to connect with the environment in which we inhabit in a more spiritual way but I believe real change comes through challenging and understanding those circumstances I mentioned before. I know this might not seem connected to your message but I feel, in a roundabout way, it is.

        I will read those verses, Robbie and thank you again for your reply. Much appreciated.

        Good luck with the rest of your stay in America and see you sometime in Scotland.

        Go well.

        Martin

Leave a Reply

