Kingdom Living

Is it possible to be living in the Kingdom of God but to be unaware of that fact and miss out on what God has made available to us? Earlier this week I was reading Matthew 8, where Jesus is astonished at the wisdom of the centurion and how he knew the authority Jesus walked in. Jesus then goes on to say that people from all over the world will come to feast with Him in the Kingdom of heaven, but that all the subjects will be thrown out.

Here, He is talking about the Jews, who had access to everything within the Kingdom, yet were unaware of it, and were not stepping out fully into their inheritance. The Bible tells us we are royalty (1 Peter 2:9), royalty within the kingdom of heaven. Jesus teaches us to pray to God, asking Him to let His will be done on earth AS IT IS IN HEAVEN.

What if we had full access to the kingdom, yet did not realize it? Paul says we are seated in heavenly realms, surely that means we have full access to the kingdom?

There is a danger that we go through life limiting God and what He has for us because we don’t believe that the Kingdom of Heaven is near. If we learn to access the Kingdom and all that God has entrusted us with, we can truly move forward and see greater things than Jesus (John 14:12)

On Friday night I was out in the shopping mall and we began speaking with a couple teenagers who were waiting for their friend that had been arrested for shop lifting. As I spoke with one of the guys, I began to ask God for something I could say to him. As I asked that, I had a picture in my minds eye of him writing, and so I asked him if he was a writer. Turned out he loved to write, but was having trouble writing as he was struggling with writer’s block! I made a declaration that he would get inspiration over the weekend to begin writing again. (See my blog on the power of the tongue!)

Then, as we were about to leave, we asked him if there was anything we could pray for, he couldn’t really think of anything. Then I had an impression that he had pain in his body, and asked him if he had pain in his hands. He did. He then held out his hands, we prayed for them, and the pain and numbness began to leave.

We have access to the kingdom of heaven. When we partner with God, people around us experience God through the words we speak. That night, God gave me the words of knowledge about this teenagers gift of writing as well as the pain in his hands. God is relational, and He chooses to work with us in reaching out to others. He chooses you, because He loves you.

When I die, I don’t want to be face to face with God and have Him ask me why I didn’t use all that had been given to me. Join with God this week, release the kingdom of heaven wherever you go. Maybe you need more of Him in your own life, take 10 minutes each day to meditate on a Bible verse, or give Him thanks for all He has done. He is preparing for the feast, will you join Him?

One comment

Leave a Reply

