Fruit in the Drought

Last night, I went to the gym for the first time since mid December. Today, I hurt. Tomorrow, I head out to the soccer field to play some football, provided I can still move after my antics at the gym last night. Starting, or getting back into habits, can be a difficult thing to do at first, but it’s the end result that we need to keep our eyes on. Getting my body back into shape is the end result that I must keep focused on. That and the fact I am getting married in November…

Building our relationship with God can sometimes be something of a hard thing to get into sometimes, maybe we have become distracted with the world around us that our time with God gets pushed further down the list of things to get done in a day. But what if we fully trusted God? What if we fully devoted our lives to Him? What if we put Him first and saw everything else in our lives fall into place as a result of our working on our relationships with God? It’s time to strengthen ourselves in the Lord.

Last night I read a verse from Jeremiah that has stuck with me ever since, and I keep thinking back to it.

“Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him. He will be like a tree planted by the water, that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; it’s leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.” Jeremiah 17:7-8

What if we were to fully trust in God and place all our confidence in Him? We would be like this tree, always green in the midst of heat, and produces fruit despite the drought around us. If we place ourselves next to the stream, grow our roots down deep, place our trust and confidence in God, then nothing can phase us.

If I am to continue to produce fruit in a drought, I need to not allow circumstances around me to dictate the way I live. My relationship needs to go deep with God, to be firmly rooted in His love and trust. I can rest assured that although there might well be a drought and difficult times around me, I can thrive as a result of putting my trust firmly in God.

How can you place trust in God this week? How can you grow deep with the Lord? It might take a little work, but keep your eye on the end result, it’s worth it, I promise.

Leave a Reply

