The Love of the Father

I had the opportunity to look after a friends 2 year son this morning, which was both a lot of fun and exhausting at the same time. I don’t know how people have the energy to raise children. After a mere 2 hours of guitar playing, fish feeding, balloon catching, wrestling, and mindless running around the back yard, I was ready to climb back into bed. Unfortunately though, I did not have that luxury, and so I readied myself and headed for class.

It was a lot of  fun looking after wee Eli. I was actually looking forward to his arrival all day yesterday and this morning before he came over. I was sad when it was time for him to head off home and for me to set out for class.

I began to think about our relationship with God, our heavenly Father, and what it must be like for Him to want to spend time with His children. Eli isn’t even my son, but I have known him all his life and was so much looking forward to having fun with him today. How much more so does God eagerly anticipate time with us? It blows my mind to think of just how much God wants to spend time with each of us, not only that but He wants to have fun with us, like any loving father would.

John 3:16 says that because of the great love God had for the world, He sent in His only son, Jesus, so that we might not die but spend eternity with our heavenly dad! It’s because of God’s love for us that Jesus came into the world, so that sin may no longer separate us from God spending time with us.

I used to have an image of God being far off on a cloud and there being a big separation between us and Him. It felt like we had to work hard in order to get His attention, and that through working hard and watching what we did, we might just be able to draw near to Him. This couldn’t be further from the truth though. God is actually desperate to spend time with us, to feed fish, chase balloons, run around like a wild man in the back yard.

God being radically in love with us is something that I have heard a lot over the last year, and yet I feel like today was the first time I was able to visible see and feel what it is like for God when He gets to spend time with His children. God loves us, wants to spend time with us, thinks about us all the time, and He even trusts us more than we trust ourselves.

Leave a Reply

