Thankfulness

Today is Thanksgiving. A time to spend with family, eat Turkey and Pumkin Pie and remember the pilgrims that came over here and ate with the local natives. Or something like that. I made the 10 hour road trip down to LA the other day to be with my family, something that is so important to me. We were designed for community. We were made to be in families.

I never really gave much thought to Thanksgiving growing up, I guess giving thanks for things is not something that we always think of doing. The Bible says to enter God’s gates with thanksgiving. Our entry into the presence of God should be done with a thankful heart. How often do we come to Him with our problems, needs and concerns? Approaching God with a thankful heart is something I have been working on for the last 6 or so months.

I have learned a lot from doing this. At first it seemed hard to give Him thanks when that felt like the last thing I wanted to do. But, when we begin to thank God for even the most mundane of things, our focus begins to shift and we see the things God has done for us, rather than becoming upset with what we feel He hasn’t done in our lives. I was stuck in traffic for over an hour while driving down, and while it would be easy to begin asking for fire to rain down on the construction workers for holding up my progress, I began to instead thank God for them and for the people in the cars around me. My whole countenance shifted from ill feeling toward my situation to sensing God’s peace and presence in the car with me.

Whatever the situation you are faced with, God is bigger and more than capable of helping you through it. In fact, He invites us into relationship with Him so that He can show us a clearer way of doing things. Enter into His gates with Thanksgiving, because He is a good God.

Leave a Reply

